7 Quick Takes

Posted: October 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

My wife used to do this thing on her blog called “7 Quick Takes”. I’ve discovered that it is easier to blog if I do it little blurts, so here are my Quick Takes for the week. They are in no particular order.

1. I hate the BCS

There are so many reason why I hate the BCS. I was reading an article this week that insinuated that an undefeated TCU could not and would not be picked to play in this years Championship game because of a certain loss last year. Hello! Did I just read that a game from a previous year would be part of the deciding factor in this year? That’s absurd! The fact that that is even a possibility (and sadly, it is) is more than enough of a reason to end this stupid system. If you agree with me, check out this book:

And read this blog.

http://joeposnanski.si.com/2010/10/12/death-to-the-bcs-a-eulogy/

I have to stop writing about this. It’s ruining my day.

2. I love my kids

Sure they frustrate me. That’s their job. Sometimes they go to bed not liking me very much, and sometimes I go to bed not liking them very much. But when I wake up the next morning, I cannot wait to see their faces. Whether they are smiling or scowling (that would be Isaac), my day does not begin until I see them. They are so much alike and so unique all at the same time.

Tyler is just a frickin genius (with no common sense). He amazes me. And so creative too. He just blows me away. To see the world from his point of view is a privilege.

I’ve always described Isaac this way: he’s not a child, he’s an experience. You have not seen a kid that can combine so many emotions in such a short amount of space. And don’t let him fool you. The kid is smart. Scary smart. The kinda smart that sneaks up on you and whops you in the head with a frying pan.

Nick. What do I say about Nick. The kid does not stop moving. Ever. And he has such insane control of his body and reflexes. And determination. Do not tell this kid he can’t do something. He will prove you wrong. It’s not a matter of if, but when. He loves his Daddy, but man, that kid is all about Momma. You do not mess with Nick’s Momma, or you get a face full of Nick. For him, the world begins and ends with Momma.

I love my kids.

3. I love my wife

Emily gets me. She just gets me. She doesn’t always like what she gets, but she gets me. She is my best friend. And there is nothing I wouldn’t do for her. I don’t just love her. I love her fiercely. She is such an amazing woman. So talented and gorgeous to boot. You should read her writing. She is so insightful (most of the time) and creative (all of the time).

4. Blogging is hard

This is diifficult. I’m running out of things to say. I think teaching has made me a better public speaker than I am a writer. That’s a complete 180 for me.

5. 6. 7.

I’m ending my quick takes at 4. I liken my blogging to some movies. They roll along pretty good and they just stop.

Comments
  1. ewade03 says:

    I am so glad you are not in this room right now, I am cracking up!! Super glad you found a new outlet for your love for the BCS. And love that I have made it into both of your posts! The boys, well, you pretty much said it.

    You know, I don’t think you have fully explored your love for CNET yet?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

